Before I talk about each episode, I want to say what I thought about it.

Heartstopper was cute. It is a queer teenage love story which covers almost every kind of relationship within the LGBTQ+ spectrum.

We have a relationship between a gay boy and a bisexual boy. A relationship between two lesbians and a “crushuationship” between a presumably straight boy and a trans-girl.

Like I already said, it is a cute story filled with first loves and figuring out one’s sexuality. I enjoyed it. I didn’t cry or anything, but I did let out a few awws

If I were to give it a score out of 5, Heartstopper would be a 4. I think the audience for whom Heartstopper was created would appreciate it. They would enjoy it – regardless of their sexual orientation – because love is universal. 

So now that we have got that out of the way: let us talk about the episodes.

Episode by Episode Summary of Heartstopper Series 1

Heartstopper Episodes Summary

I have only read Volumes 1 and 2 of Heartstopper, and I think series 1 was based on both books. I may be wrong, but that was the impression I got while watching it. 

As you may have observed by my review of Bridgerton season 2, you can tell I am not a book purist. I understand why showrunners might want to change things for television or movies since the rules are different. I get it.

Heartstopper, however, did try its very best to lift literal panels from book to screen, which was commendable. They also switched things up by fleshing out the friends.

Episode 1. 

Charlie and Nick get acquainted. We also see that Charlie has a down-low situationship with Ben. 

Episode 2.

Charlie and Nick’s friendship gets deeper. They spend more time together, and Charlie breaks up with Ben because Ben is embarrassed to be seen with him. 

Episode 3.

Nick invites Charlie to Harry’s birthday party, and they have their first kiss. 

Episode by Episode Summary of Heartstopper Series 1

Episode 4.

Nick visits Charlie in the rain and reaffirms that the kiss wasn’t a mistake – it’s just that he doesn’t understand his feelings. So, they decide to keep things on the low. 

Episode 5.

Nick gets asked out by Imogen on a date, the same day as Charlie’s birthday. He goes to Charlie’s birthday instead. But he meets up with Imogen to explain that he doesn’t like her like that and they remain close friends still.

Episode 6.

Nick comes out to Tara and Darcy, and they plan to go on a triple date (with Tao and Elle). Elle reveals that she has a crush on Tao and finds out that Nick and Charlie are dating. 

Episode 7.

Nick invites Charlie to hang out with his friends, but Harry acts like a douche, which leads to a fight. Harry also fights with Tao at school. Charlie feels that it is his fault and chooses to hide in the art class.

Episode 8.

Charlie, Nick, and Tao all make up. Harry gets suspended, and Nick comes out to his mother. Tao also realises that he has a crush on Elle, unbeknownst to her. Tara and Darcy are in a happy place. 

The End.

Episode by Episode Summary of Heartstopper Series 1

Final Notes

This is as spoiler-free as I could get so that you get to watch and experience the whole thing for yourself. I will get around to reading Volumes 3 and 4. 

I have this one thread from Netflix I saved on Twitter about all the movies and TV shows they have coming out. I want to see if they have books and read them. I am thinking about revisiting Sandman because I feel the upcoming season would tackle more than Preludes and Nocturnes. I don’t want to be like, “huh? Who is this?”

Peaky Blinders is a show I just started watching – not in love yet, but I am intrigued. Time would tell with that one. So, that’s that on my interests. I hope you enjoyed this post and bye for now. 


I am an author. I write stories, I talk about stories, I read them, watch them and I love them.

You may also like...

%d bloggers like this: